H.M.G. have at present over 127 riders and associate members, riding a variety of machinery from Manx Norton’s to Gold Stars, Ducati's, Triumphs, BSA’s, Velocettes, Greeves, Moto Guzzi's, Yamahas, Suzukis, Kawasakis etc, as well as more exotic machinery, such as Yamaha 250, 350 and TZ750 as well as Rob North Triples.

The Historic Motorcycle Group demonstrates at racing venues, such as Kyalami, Midvaal, Zwartkops, Phakisa, Port Elizabeth, East London GP circuit and RedStar amongst others.

The selected A group machines are all manufactured prior to 31st December 1975 and most have racing histories. 
Some machines took part in racing events prior to the Second World War.

The criteria for inclusion to allow a specific motorcycle to appear are;

  • Must be manufactured prior to December 1975.
  • No magnesium wheels. Only spoke wheels.
  • The make and model was originally designed to allow owners to take part in race meetings and sporting events.
  • The rider must wear a "D" ring full-face helmet and gloves. We recommend one or 2 piece leathers.
  • All selected machines must pass scrutineering, as would any other machine before being allowed onto the racetrack.

The motorcycles range from: 

AJS M18 and Matchless G80.
Ariel. Square four.
BSA Rickman Rocket 3
BSA. Rocket Gold Star. Gold Star DBD 34. CR 722. B33
Ducati. 250, 350, 450, 750 and 860.
Honda. 250/4. CB & Black Bomber. 400/4. 500/4. 750/4.
Norton. Manx. M40 & M30. Atlas. Commando. Rob North Trident.
Seeley. 750cc.
Suzuki. T500 Titan. GP 500 water cooled.
Triton. 650cc and 750.
Triumph. Bonneville 650. Triumph TT. Tiger100.
Velocette. KTT. Viper. Venom. Velocette Special 294
Vincent. Rapide. And an Egli500
Yamahas. TZ250. TZ350. TZ750.

And many, many others.

Then we have B group machines. Manufactured from 1st January 1976 to 31st December 1985.

Much faster machinery. Mag wheels allowed. 

And finally we have CSRA which are out and out racing machines. 

This has become very popular especially with overseas riders coming out to take on the RSA riders.

Unfortunately Jim Redman, 6 times world champion has now retired but still is the honorary president of the HMG, we also have local past riders and champions, such as Ex Rhodesian champions of a past era such as Jimmy Whyte and Mike Boon. As well as enthusiastic local and overseas owners and riders of ex racing machines who take part in many parades.

Some of the overseas riders were well known in their own right, before settling in South Africa.